South African Journal of Occupational Therapy


The South African Journal of Occupational Therapy (SAJOT) is the official Journal of the Occupational Therapy Association of South Africa and is a leading publication for research into occupational therapy in Africa.

Contact the Editorial Team at

Aims and Scope of SAJOT

SAJOT publishes and disseminates research articles that contribute to the scientific knowledge of the profession and its outcomes with particular reference to service delivery in Africa. It provides a platform for debate about issues relevant to OT in Africa which will also contribute to the development of the profession worldwide.

This journal provides open access to its content immediately at the time of publication of an edition on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge. Therefor all articles that are published in SAJOT may be found on this web site (see below) and under the tab “Archives”. They may also be found on the following web sites: SciELO, EBSCOHost, OTDBase, OT Search and ProQuest. In addition articles are preserved via Portico  see .

Post acceptance publication fee

In line with the policy of most Open Access Journals, all submissions to the SAJOT are subject to a publication fee of R5000-00 per article once the submission is accepted for publication. This post-acceptance publication fee will be applied to cover both retrospective and prospective processes involved in peer reviewed articles. OTASA members are exempt from the R5000 publication fee as a benefit of their membership. The publication fee is not payable if at least one author is a registered OTASA member. Authors may also sign up to become OTASA members for the year instead of paying the publication fee, prior to publication.

Please note that authors from LMIC countries (particularly those in Africa) may also apply for exemption or reduction of the publication fee.

Please note that SAJOT does not accept pre-prints at this time.

Additional details can be found in the Guide to submitting an article.

Submitting an article to SAJOT

Before submitting an article, a user name and password must be obtained from the editor. Send the title page of the article to and a password will be issued to you. Follow the submission steps once you have logged on with this user name and password. The Guide to submitting an article to SAJOT should be consulted before an article is submitted. Please note that all articles must undergo a plagiarism check before submission and the report must submitted together with the article.

All articles undergo a blind review by at least two reviewers who are experts in the field. The reviewers may recommend that the article be accepted, require revisions, resubmit for another review or the submission may be declined.

The team managing the articles consists of the following members:

Editor in Chief - Blanche Pretorius

Managing Editor - Marjorie Concha

Assistant Editors:

     Denise Franszen

     Hester van Biljon

     Janine van der Linde

 Members of the Advisory  Board  are listed under the tab "About/People"

 The articles published in the following editions of SAJOT can be found in pdf format by clicking on the Archives section and clicking on the relevant journal volume:

Vol 40, No 3, 2010; Vol 41, Nos 1 - 3, 2011;  Vol 42, Nos 1-3, 2012; Vol 43, Nos 1-3, 2013; Vol 44,  Nos 1-3, 2014; Vol 45, Nos 1-3, 2015; Vol 46, Nos 1-3, 2016; Vol 47, No3 1-3, 2017, Vol 48 Nos 1 -3, 2018, Vol 49 Nos 1-3 2019, Vol 50 No1 2020.

The most recent edition ie Vol 50, No 2, 2020 is to be found below.

Vol 50, No 2 (2020): The South African Journal of Occupational of Occupational Therapy

Table of Contents

Guest Editorial

Guest Editorial
Elvin Williams, Patricia de Witt


Lizette Swanepoel, Yolanda Grobler, Susan de Klerk
4 - 10
Marieta Visser, Mariette Nel, Melissa de Klerk, Annique Ganzevoort, Caroline Hubble, Almaré Liebenberg, Marié Snyman, Megan Young
11 - 22
Nicole D Mottay, Pragashnie Govender, December Mandlenkosi Mpanza
23 - 34
Suzanne Stark, Desiree van der Vyver, Pamela Gretschel
35 - 43
Matumo Ramafikeng, Lisa Beukes, Aneeqa Hassan, Tara Kohler, Tayla Leigh Mouton, Saadiqah Petersen
44 - 51
Michelle Elizabeth Uys, Helen Buchanan, Lana van Niekerk
52 - 61
Faye Sinnett, Denise Franzsen
62 - 69
Alison Camp, Daleen Casteleijn, Dineo Thupae
70 - 76

Opinion Piece

Robin Wendy Joubert
77 - 83


84 - 92
93 - 94